Loaded Spuds

20140306-125644.jpg

One of my all time favorite comfort foods is a loaded baked potato. Gosh, it’s been a long while since I had a baked russet potato with all those oooey gooey fixin’s on top. What a calorie bomb those things are, delicious nonetheless! I have found an equally satisfying alternative to those bloating spuds, loaded sweet potatoes. You could really top these with anything you want but my recent favorite is roasted broccoli with spring onion topped with my bolognese sauce that I batch cook and freeze. You can find the recipe for the bolognese here. I also have an easy way to prepare this for a quick weeknight meal.

First wash and prick with a fork your desired number of small sweet potatoes (I do three, the kids split one). Brush or smear grass-fed butter or lard all over the potatoes and sprinkle with salt. Place on a square of foil in a 400 degree oven for about 45 minutes. This can be done ahead of time, simply cut open your potatoes when you are ready to eat and pop back in the oven when you roast your veggies to reheat. Then make the green part of your super spud…

Roared Broccoli with Garlic and Spring Onion

1 large head broccoli, florets cut apart
1 spring onion or scallion (whites mostly) sliced thin
1-2 cloves fresh garlic minced
2 T fat of choice (grass-fed lard or coconut oil will work best)
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and heat a large skillet to medium heat with your fat. Add the broccoli and toss to coat, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cook broccoli on the stove top for 3-5 minutes, keep it moving so it doesn’t burn. Add in the garlic and onion and toss with broccoli for 1-2 minutes then transfer to the oven for about 10 minutes until broccoli is fork tender. This makes a great side dish to any meal.

While my broccoli is roasting I warm my bolognese in a sauce pan on the stove. When everything is hot and ready to go I layer the broccoli then the bolognese sauce on top over my opened sweet potato. This is so good I even eat the potato skins, talk about vitamin central! Yummy!!

Leave a comment