Mixing it up

Yesterday I took a day of from the blog. I didn’t feel all that well and I suspect it had something to do with my food choices the evening before. Weekends at our house are non-stop family time and that’s when we tend to eat dinner out. By Sunday evening I’ve given in to the temptation and chosen a yummy restaurant to patron. El Tiempo on Washington avenue was my choice this particular evening and even though I chose my meal within Paleo parameters I didn’t quiz the waiter about the marinade or cooking oils used in the preparation. Sometimes it’s just about enjoyment but there’s a big lesson here. I woke up the next day with a throbbing headache. Maybe it’s just a coincidence. Either way, here’s what I ate Sunday.

20140218-211620.jpg
Breakfast-sweet potato hash, two free range eggs, Shiner Farms sausage, kale salad, with black coffee and half a ruby red grapefruit.

20140218-211924.jpg
Post yoga lunch-Hanna banana smoothie from Big and Juicy (vegan, raw, paleo) and three raw carob mint NRG balls.

20140218-212103.jpg
Dinner- Carne Asada from El Tiempo and sautéed mixed vegetables. First of all, this was delicious. Sencond, it was swimming in soy sauce. I haven’t had soy sauce in a really long time. I also had a handful of tortilla chips. Maybe I’ll remember the headache the next time I want to eat this, maybe not.

Monday’s meals started with coffee with coconut milk and the rest of my carob mint balls. My head hurt to bad to make a proper breakfast.

20140218-212454.jpg
Lunch- hard boiled free range eggs, steamed broccoli, avocado and spicy salsa.

20140218-212600.jpg
Dinner-Italian herb marinated chicken breast with butternut squash purée and spring mix dressed with EVOO and balsamic vinegar.

Leave a Reply

