Kale-ing it up

Honestly kale isn’t the most palatable of vegetables. It does have amazing health benefits though. Here’s why you should be eating kale on a regular basis. Now that you know that not eating kale is almost equal to a death sentence I’ll admit I don’t really love it. Even still, I have found a few ways to include it in my diet that I have learned to love. Kale works well in soups or in a meat loaf. The key is to chop it very small. I do have a great salad I invented as well–even my husband likes it. I created the recipe as a healthier choice to a popular salad on the Whole Foods salad bar. A friend of mine wanted something without the added refined sugar that was in that one and asked me if I could recreate it. Well, of course I could. Here it is.

20140216-091139.jpg

ingredients:

1 bunch curly kale
1 Meyer lemon
1/2 C toasted walnuts
5 un-sulfured pitted dried giant or Turkish apricots

dressing:
1/4 C raw apple cider vinegar
1/4 C olive oil
1 T Dijon mustard
1 T local raw honey
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp black pepper

method:

Remove kale leaves from ribs by running fingers down the stem. It’s pretty easy to do it this way. Wash and dry the leaves and chop very thouroughly. You should do this in batches. Using a potato peeler remove the skin from the Meyer lemon and chiffonade (cut into thin strips). Toast your walnuts in a dry skillet on the stove top over medium heat, careful not to burn, and chop. Chop your apricots small and place all ingredients in a large bowl.
Place all dressing ingredients in a jar and shake vigorously. Pour dressing over kale mixture and toss to coat. Pack the salad into a slightly too small container and let sit refrigerated for 8 hours before serving. This salad will last 5 days in the refrigerator. The ‘sweet spot’ is 3 days.

I started my day yesterday at 4am with a cup of black coffee, two hard boiled eggs and a cup of home made chicken stock in preparation for a 13 mile run. I was out of bananas or I would have eaten one of those too. While running I had a package of lemon flavored GU chomps and one strawberry banana GU Rocktane. Fuel!!

Here’s what I ate the rest of the day.

20140216-093338.jpg
Post run breakfast- sweet potato hash, two free range eggs, Shiner Farms pork sausage, kale salad and coffee with coconut milk.

20140216-093551.jpg
Lunch-finished off the Mexican shredded chicken.

20140216-093632.jpg
Dinner-Citrus Pork Carnitas from Well Fed II over cauliflower rice with avacado, spicy salsa and a side of kale salad. I liked the carnitas and will make it again but I’ll sub in some ingredients to make it less sour. I’m thinking grapefruit juice instead of lemon. I won’t share the recipe because it’s not public domain. Buy the book.

Leave a Reply

