Upgrade Your Bun-less Burger

I had a fabulous dinner yesterday. I also made it from leftovers. I’m a big believer in not wasting food. There are people going hungry everywhere and I spend a lot of money on good quality foods and hate to waste money. So earlier in the week I made a pot roast with roasted root vegetables, golden beets, turnips and sweet potatoes. When I was putting away my leftovers from my pot roast I strained the cooking liquids into a Pyrex container. Those juices are full of joint healing gelatin and muscle recovering amino acids. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it but I know I can always freeze it and use it for the next pot roast if nothing else. Anyway, I had some ground beef, those leftover juices and those leftover vegetables. What’s a girl to do? I whipped up the root vegetables in the food processor–instant fast side dish. I love a good red wine glaze so into a saucier went my beef jus and about a quarter cup of red wine. I let those reduce down to a syrupy consistency; it should be thick enough to coat the back of a spoon. This is a rich beautiful sauce, suitable for your favorite steak, short rib or back on that pot roast. I then pan seared my burger patties and cooked them to my desired doneness (medium). Plating is key here. Put your whipped veg down, top with your burger and drizzle the sauce over the burger and veg. I opted to garnish it with some spring onions I picked up at the farmers market earlier in the week.

20140214-142246.jpg20140214-142259.jpg20140214-142312.jpg

I served the meal with my already infamous kale salad. I’ll post the recipe for that tomorrow.

20140214-142458.jpg

Here’s everything I ate yesterday.

20140214-142534.jpg
Breakfast scramble with free range eggs, chicken, spinach and tomato at a new restaurant near me, Dish Society. They focus on local sustainable ingredients. This is a restaurant I can get behind.

20140214-142841.jpg
Lunch- leftover Mexican shredded chicken with spicy salsa.

You already saw my dinner.

20140214-143000.jpg
Movie snack-raisins and shelled pistachios. I watched Master with the late Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Great movie and a great talent.

Leave a Reply

